The Blogging Treadmill and The Alternative

[Part of a series of articles reviewing blogs and websites (here Jeffrey Goldberg) on my blog-roll; see the about page. This is actually the second time I have featured Goldberg, which I have to do: one for the sublime Goldberg and the other for the reactive one. ]

I never cease to be surprised at how apologetic bloggers are at a slight disruption to their flow, such as Paul Krugman (!) last week when posting an article later in the afternoon than normal.

Now I know should probably have put up a warning article when I stopped last week, so I am guilty of being too lax, but I think it is a good idea to break things up a bit sometimes, and not be apologetic about it (though a warning would be helpful and wise). What do other bloggers think?

Update: I have just read Jeffrey Goldberg’s latest article. He hardly ever posts on his blog, but what a gem. Here are his last two paragraphs, but the whole article should be read.

Wal-Mart has built a perfect system for the maintenance of the permanent underclass. I asked one worker last night if she ever shopped outside Wal-Mart. She said no, she could find everything she needs right here. I then asked her the relevant question: could she afford to shop at a store other than Wal-Mart? No, she said, smiling. And what a smile: Dental care is an unreachable luxury for most of the poor of West Virginia, even the poor of the Panhandle, which is the least put-upon section of the state. Stump-teeth, collapsing gums, whistling dentures, these are mouths straight out of David Shipler.

Wal-Mart has had some media success lately in its disingenuous campaign to convince liberal elites that it is not driving America into the gutter, but, as I have pointed out elsewhere, this is the most self-serving of campaigns, a way to drive costs down and convince elites that Wal-Mart is going green. But the invisible workers, hopeless and toothless, their poverty ensuring their consumer loyalty, living on what is essentially company scrip, benefit not at all.

This piece appears to me to be almost transcendental in the way it has so deftly weaved many different strands together. Having been humbled by Yglesias now it’s Goldberg’s turn. The Atlantic is not good for my ego (by which I mean it is excellent of course—and no I don’t compare myself with these folks but when you are reminded of the chasm it can’t but be salutary).

The reason I picked this up was because I use an aggregator to read my blogs: I recommend you do too. If you are using FireFox and want to use the Google Reader this is particularly easy: press the orange feed icon in the URL bar and select ‘Google Reader’ in the ‘Subscribe to this feed using’ control at the top of the page. I have described some of the benefits of using an aggregator in an earlier post. They are substantial.

Leave a Reply

